top of page

China’s Provincial Leaders

The Party Secretaries of the main provinces of China are key figures in the country's political landscape. They are appointed by the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China (CPC) and play a crucial role in governing their provinces, driving economic development, maintaining social stability, and promoting the overall welfare of the population. These provincial leaders are chosen based on their political acumen, experience, and work in tandem with the provincial government and other party officials to address regional challenges, foster growth, and ensure adherence to the central party's directives.

Hare a list of main provinces and the profiles of each Party Secretary:

Chen Jining, Party Secretary of Shanghai since October 2022. PhD in environmental systems analysis in 1992 at the Imperial College London. In 1998, he returned to Tsinghua University in Beijing and became university's president from 2012 to 2015. Chen served as Minister of Environmental Protection of China from 2015 to 2017, and Mayor of Beijing City from 2018 to 2022.

Yin Li, Party Secretary of Beijing Municipality. Previously, he served as party secretary of Fujian Province from 2020 to 2022, governor of Sichuan Province from 2016 to 2020, deputy director of China Food and Drug Administration from 2013 to 2015, and Vice Minister of Health of China from 2008 to 2013 and vice chairman of the executive board of the World Health Organization from 2004 to 2005.

Huang Kunming, Party Secretary of Guangdong, bachelor’s degree in politics from Fujian Normal University, master’s degree in economic management from the Central Party School, and a doctoral degree in management from the Tsinghua University.

Xin Changxing, Party Secretary of Jiangsu, bachelor’s degree in political science from Qufu Normal University, and master's degree in economics from the Central China Normal University.

Lin Wu, Party Secretary of Shandong, bachelor’s degree in steelmaking from Jiangxi University of Science and Technology, and on-job postgraduate degree and a doctoral degree in engineering from Central China University.

Yi Lianhong, Party Secretary of Zhejiang, bachelor’s degree in political economy from Hunan Normal University and master’s degree of economies from Shaanxi Normal University.

Lou Yangsheng, Party Secretary of Henan, bachelor’s degree in mathematics from Zhejiang Normal University and a master’s Business Administration (MBA) from Zhejiang University.

Wang Xiaohui, Party Secretary of Sichuan, master’s degree of law from Jilin University.

Wang Menghui, Party Secretary of Hubei, bachelor’s degree in architecture from the Tsinghua University, and master’s degree in urban planning and design and a doctoral degree in engineering from the Tsinghua University.

Zhou Zuyi, Party Secretary of Fujian, bachelor’s degree in geology from Zhejiang University and a doctoral degree in science from Tongji University.

Shen Xiaoming, Party Secretary of Hunan, bachelor’s degree in pediatrics from Wenzhou Medical College and a doctoral degree in pediatric medicine from Shanghai Jiaotong University.

Han Jun, Party Secretary of Anhui, bachelor’s degree in agricultural economics from Shandong Agricultural University, and master’s degree in agricultural economics and a doctoral degree of agriculture from Northwest Agriculture and Forestry University.


Recent articles
bottom of page